After a Parking Fine is issued, the violator has 30 days to pay. If not paid:
- If not paid in 30 days, an additional $5 fine is assessed.
- If not paid in 60 days, an additional $5 fine is assessed.
- If not paid in 90 days, an additional $10 fine is assessed
- At 90 days, a letter will be sent to violator notifying them of further action.
- Violator has 10 days to appeal to the Chief of Police.
- Failure to appeal will constitute acceptance of violation.
- Chief will notify violator of final decision within 10 business days.
- If appeal is denied, violator has 30 days to pay in full all penalties and fines.
- 2 unpaid Citations (90 days from date issued) will be eligible for debt collection.
North Carolina Debt Setoff, a collection agency, will be used to collect unpaid parking violations totaling $50 or greater. After notification and grace period, the case may be turned over for collection through North Carolina State taxes.
Please be advised that a wheel lock may be used to prevent a vehicle from being moved until fines are paid. Arrangements for the release of the vehicle must be made with the Lenoir Police Department within 48 hours or the vehicle will be towed at the owner's expense.
The new charge for removal of a wheel lock is now $50 and must be paid between 8 a.m. to 4 p.m, Monday through Friday (except holidays). After 4 p.m, the fee for removal goes up to $75.